Balance

18 Mar

I saw the above image on a colleague’s facebook page and wondered how my chart would differ? Although I am concerned with getting good grades (taking one class per semester, going towards a BFA), I also have a 9-to-5 job,  a family (2.5 year-old son & pregnant wife), and a side business (shedpress). It’s safe to say that I have plenty to keep me busy, but sometimes I wonder how I fit it all in. The lack of sleep and stress has been killing me lately and I feel I need to make a few changes in my life to accommodate my sanity.

Until I make those changes, here are a few things I use to (try t0) keep my professional and personal life balanced:

  1. Lists – I always use lists for day-to-day or weekly tasks, at work and at home. I revisit the lists at the beginning, middle, and end of the day.
  2. Minimizing distractions – twitter, facebook, google reader, gchat, etc.
  3. Staying organized – if my files (digital or physical), books, magazines, proofs, and any other items get messy, I can’t focus on the task at hand
  4. Google Calendar – I usually set 5 reminders on each event so I don’t forget what’s coming up. It may be excessive, but I rarely miss an appointment or meeting.

What and how do you balance?

Leave a Reply

