Dana Tanamachi

20 May

Dana Tanamachi is a graphic designer, custom chalk letterer and currently resides in Brooklyn, NY. According to her website, she enjoys crafting, reading, walking, and listening to Country music from the 1990s. Based on that, I picture Dana bobbing her head, listening to Achy Breaky Heart on her yellow Sony Walkman while chalk dust flies all over the place.

She got her start in NYC working at SpotCo designing posters for Broadway shows, but now works at Louise Fili, with previously featured designer, John Passafiume.

Her preferred medium is chalk, which is so bad ass. It would be my favorite too, if my illustration and hand-made typography was as good as her’s. I understand that chalk is meant to be temporary, but I was wondering if anyone who wanted a more permanent sign has sealed over her work so it wouldn’t get smudged/ruined? I know I would if I were them.

Beautiful work, Dana!

(via John Passafiume/twitter)

One Response to “Dana Tanamachi”

  1. David Elliott May 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Her work is awesome! If I had a bar, restaurant, or other establishment I would absolutely request her or someone with similar talent and style. It’s also very refreshing to see work on a “different” medium.

Leave a Reply

