designblinks update

9 Jul

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t made any new posts in over a month, so I’d like to explain why.

I went to Weapons of Mass Creation Fest in Cleveland, OH. My goodness that was an amazing experience. Not only did I get to hear so many inspirational designers and illustrators, I was able to meet other like-minded designers who were just as hungry, if not hungrier, to gather as many tips and to soak up as much inspiration as humanly possible in one weekend. I will expand on my time at WMC Fest in a upcoming post.

I also accepted a new job (same university, different department), so in the past few weeks, I have been finishing some larger and on-going projects for my previous department, as well as trying to get up to speed with my new department, which included finishing the interview process, accepting the position, and picking out new hardware and software. All in all, it was a long process, but well worth the move. I was with my former department for over four years and within that time, the department restructured several times. There were many road blocks and red tape, as you may have in any academic setting, but this was a great opportunity for me to join an newly-formed, fast-growing department, pretty much at the ground level. So I will be able to help them set guidelines, organize, and write policies that they will use in the future.

Because I’ve been busy with job-related things, I have been absent from my daily social sites where I draw my usual blog content from. That’s the main reason I haven’t posted anything in the past month+. Over this “extended blog vacation,” I’ve had a rebirth of sorts; working on changing the way I do things personally and professionally. That being said, I plan on making more frequent posts, hopefully two per week.

Thanks for sticking around.

One Response to “designblinks update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WMC Fest 2012 overview « designblinks - July 17, 2012

    […] I mentioned in a previous post, I attended this year’s Weapons of Mass Creation Fest in Cleveland, OH. Throw out all of your […]

Leave a Reply

